## MINUTES OF THE MEETING OF THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS OF THE FRANKLIN COUNTY WATER DISTRICT HELD: September 14, 1998

## THE STATE OF TEXAS

## FRANKLIN COUNTY WATER DISTRICT

## COUNTY OF FRANKLIN

On this the 14<sup>th</sup> day of September 1998, the Board of Directors of the Franklin County Water District convened in REGULAR SESSION at their office located at 114 North Houston Street on the East side of the Square in Mount Vernon, Texas, with the following members present:

KENNETH JAGGERSPRESIDENTEDSON REYNOLDSVICE PRESIDENTGLENN MORRISDIRECTORELDON WOLDDIRECTOR

and with the following members absent: Billy M. Jordan.

Also present were Jack Seher, Pat Wright, Kirk Garner, David Weidman, E. C. Withers and Shirley Maples.

The President called the meeting to order, declared a quorum present, and that the meeting was duly convened and ready to transact business.

NOTICE of this meeting was given, stating the time, place and purpose, all as required by Chapter 551 of the Government Code.

Invocation was given by Edson Reynolds.

The Consent Agenda was as follows:

- 1. Consideration, Approval and Ratification of Minutes
- 2. Extended Lease Agreement James T. Doell TT 14/10/2
- 3. Termination of Lease:
  - A. Earl C. Stephenson, Jr. TT 2/11/2
  - B. Orman Bellamy KC 32/37/4
  - C. Edward Tristan TT 32/9/1

MOTION was made by Glenn Morris, and SECONDED by Eldon Wold, to approve the consent agenda. The President put the question and, after full discussion and deliberation thereon, all members present voted "AYE". NONE voted "NO". A copy of each consent agenda item is attached hereto and made a part hereof.

MOTION was made by Eldon Wold, and SECONDED by Edson Reynolds, to ratify action taken in paying bills since the last meeting. The President put the question and, after full discussion and deliberation thereon, all members present voted "AYE". NONE voted "NO". A list of the bills is attached hereto and made a part hereof.

MOTION was made by Edson Reynolds, and SECONDED by Glenn Morris, to approve the plat of Land's End. The President put the question and, after full discussion and deliberation thereon, all members present voted "AYE". NONE voted "NO". The plat is attached hereto and made a part hereof.

Discussion was held concerning the Attorney General's ruling concerning the District's authority to require permits and fees for fishing tournaments and fishing guide services. MOTION was made by Glenn Morris, and SECONDED by Eldon Wold, to leave the permits in place with no fee attached. The President put the question and, after full discussion and deliberation thereon, all members present voted "AYE". NONE voted "NO".

MOTION was made by Edson Reynolds and SECONDED by Glenn Morris, to ratify the execution of the Corrected Contract with Brooksey Crow for mowing the dam. The President put the question and, after full discussion and deliberation thereon, all members present voted "AYE". NONE voted "NO". A copy of the corrected contract will be attached hereto and made a part hereof.

MOTION was made by Eldon Wold, and SECONDED by Edson Reynolds, to approve the execution of the Engagement Letter with Doll and Karahol for performing the 1998 audit for a fee of \$4,000.00. The President put the question and, after full discussion and deliberation thereon, all members present voted "AYE". NONE voted "NO". A copy of the letter will be attached hereto and made a part hereof.

MOTION was made by Glenn Morris, and SECONDED by Edson Reynolds, to revise the permit fee for retaining walls to \$.20 per foot with a minimum fee of \$20.00 per permit. The President put the question and, after full discussion and deliberation thereon, all members present voted "AYE". NONE voted "NO".

A plat of The Oaks was presented for a first reading.

The manager reported on the drought contingency plan and showed pictures of the retaining wall in Guthrie Park and the morning glory walkway.

There being no further business, the meeting was adjourned.

MINUTES approved this the 13th day of October 1998.

Kenneth Jaggers, President Edson Reynolds, Vice President Billy M. Jordan, Secretary (Absent) Glenn Morris, Director Eldon Wold, Director